Rice cooker cake – a success!

This is the end result! Wah-laa! 🙂

I miss my conventional oven back home.  Since moving to a new country, my apartment is too small to fit a conventional oven so I started to research alternative ways to bake a cake.

A friend of mine suggested using a rice cooker, so I decided to give it a go! I found some recipes online but I tweaked the ingredients a little to make do with what I already had in the pantry.  I usually just buy a cake mix so this is my first time to bake a cake from scratch! Here goes….

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder
2 cups all purpose flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup sugar (I reduced it from 1 and 1/4 cups because I don’t like my cakes too sweet)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk
25g melted butter  (I reduced it from 1/2 cup as this was all the butter I had)

Method:

  1. First I measured the flour, baking powder and salt and mixed it together in a bowl.
  2. In a separate mixing bowl (I actually used a cooking pot because I didn’t have a large bowl but it works just the same), I used a spoon and mixed the sugar, butter and eggs.
  3. Then, using the mixer on slow speed, I slowly added the contents from the first bowl into the cooking pot whilst adding the milk occasionally until all the ingredients have mixed in smoothly. 
  4. Finally, I added the vanilla extract and mixed the batter on high speed for 30 seconds. The batter should be relatively thick by this stage.
  5. I greased my rice cooker pot with a little bit of butter (from the wrapping) and then poured the batter into the rice cooker pot.
  6. I then patted the bottom of the rice cooker pot to remove all the air bubbles from the batter, and then switched the rice cooker to “cook”.

My rice cooker is the most basic kind in the market – it only has one button – “cook”.  After my batter cooked for 5 minutes, my rice cooker automatically switched itself to “keep warm”.  I tried to press “cook” again but the button didn’t stay down, so I let it sit for another 5 minutes until the “cook” button was working again.  I repeated this process every 5 minutes or so, occasionally opening the rice cooker lid to check on my cake.  It was working because while the rice cooker was on “keep warm” mode, it was still really hot and my cake was rising! I became really excited!

 After 43 minutes, I poked a chopstick into the cake and it came up clean so I knew that the cake was cooked.  Admittedly, I poked it a few times just to be sure.  Then, I quickly tipped the cake upside down onto a plate and transferred it right-side-up onto a chopping board lined with chopsticks to let it cool.  If you have a cooling rack, I would recommend using that instead of course.

Now, the icing is easy part.

Icing ingredients:
1 egg white
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
250-300g icing sugar

Method:

  1. Stir the egg white in a bowl.
  2. Slowly add the icing sugar and vanilla extract while stirring and keep adding the icing sugar if the mix appears too watery.
  3. Cover the bowl with a warm towel until the towel cools. I’m not really sure what the purpose of this step is but I completed it anyway, just in case.
  4. Finally, spread the icing over the cake evenly with a spatula (I used a rice scoop)!

The cake is not as spongy as I would like it to be, but it surprisingly tastes quite good! Overall, I am quite pleased with the result of my first cake made from scratch (using a rice cooker).

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rice cooker cake – a success!

  1. John says:

    I know a lot of folks who don’t eat eggs (they’re allergic, for health reasons, or concerns about animal cruelty). Here’s an awesome site that gives tips on cooking and baking without eggs: http://EggFreeLiving.com

  2. it looks yummy!! I like the idea of letting the cake cool down on a chopping board lined with chopsticks.

    • ACW says:

      Lol, its because I don’t have a cooling rack but it worked just the same. Actually, I don’t have many things in my kitchen because I’ve just relocated and haven’t got that much stuff yet. Glad you liked it 😉

Leave a Reply

