Help! WordPress support please…

I feel that I have no choice but to post my WordPress support question on my blog.

I posted a support question in Forum but as soon as I posted it, it says that I posted the topic 41years ago and that the “topic is closed for replies”. What does that mean? Why can’t anyone be allowed to reply to my support question? I also noticed that the author was “admin” and not myself.

The same thing happened when I posted up a topic in the Showcase Forum. Worse still – I think my topic got removed from the forum because I couldn’t find it the next day. Same with my support question!

How can I get any support from WordPress if I can’t post my questions? And why can’t I post on Showcase?

Would be grateful if someone can point me to the right direction. Where can I find the answers?

*********************************************************************

I got in touch with WordPress Support a week ago and was advised that I have been banned from the Forums for 2 days because I was reported by other WordPress members to have breached the WordPress Code of Conduct.  I cannot imagine myself having said anything impolite or objectionable. My posts have always been nothing but helpful.  On one occasion, I gave constructive advice to a Forum member who asked for feedback as to why he was not getting traffic to his site. I wanted to be helpful so I politely gave him my opinion that he might want to try writing shorter posts and gave my reasons why.  I also said, “this is just my suggestion so I hope you find it helpful”. When I visited his Forum topic again, I noticed he didn’t approve my comment and I suspect he reported me as a spammer.

It is because of such behavior that many good people in society now just try to stay out of other people’s business in order to protect themselves.  For example, a passerby may not save a drowning man in fear of liability…..or people ignore strangers who speak to them on the street in fear of being vulnerable to something (eg being physically attacked, being persuaded to buy/join something etc).

How does WordPress prevent unjustified reports that someone is a spammer? Can anyone just go around reporting other bloggers as spammers without reasonable justification? How is that fair?

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help! WordPress support please…

  1. It was a very nice idea! Just wanna say thank you for the information you have diffused. Just continue composing this kind of post. I will be a loyal reader, thanks a lot.

    • ACW says:

      Thanks for your feedback. Hope you like my most recent post! Do you have a blog? I’d love to read it too 🙂

Leave a comment