What to buy for people who have everything!

A particular member of my immediate family has everything under the sun – she and her husband have well paying jobs.  They love big brands and are willing to spend money travelling overseas just to eat a meal at a Michelin Star restaurant.  They travel internationally a lot and often eat at expensive restaurants.  Their idea of a casual dining experience is one that my husband and I only visit on special occasions once a year.  So as you can see, their values on money are very different from mine.

When it comes to buying a gift for her, I am always struggling for ideas.  I cannot think of anything that I can buy within my budget of US$50 – 60 that she doesn’t already have.  I want the gift to be thoughtful but not cheap, and something special that she doesn’t usually have. For example, I don’t want to get her a bottle of wine because she has a bottle every second night at home from her own wine cellar!

In the past, I have bought her jewelry, bags, ornaments and other tangible gifts but sooner or later, these are donated or thrown out because she no longer uses them.  Once she even asked me if I wanted her necklace not remembering that it was originally a gift from me!

She regularly has massages, facials, manicures and pedicures at her local beauty parlor.  So I started thinking of “experiences” as a gift like a cooking class or a hot air balloon ride etc…..but after some research, I realized that they are quite expensive.  I also feel that it is rude for me to buy an “experience” gift for one person (which is all I can afford) because when she goes on the “experience” with her husband or friend, that person will have to pay for their own costs.

I am also thinking of donating to charity as a gift to her. I hear that she can then choose her own charity of choice where she wants the gift money to be donated to.  I’m not sure that she will be happy that she gets nothing though. It is a hard call.

I’ve always felt that candles and other incense/soap/shampoo etc products are not very personal so I’ve given it a miss.

So I have run out of ideas….

If you have any ideas, please post a comment or send me an email. Thanks so much!

This entry was posted in Family, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What to buy for people who have everything!

  1. Pete Howorth says:

    $50 worth of those Lucky Charms I keep hearing American’s go on about, boom. Sorted.

    • ACW says:

      Hi Pete, thanks for your suggestion. I’m not sure what Lucky Charms you’re talking about – I only know of the breakfast cereal lol 🙂

  2. Pete Howorth says:

    Just noticed the time stamp, do you live in the US? Bring as its tomorrow haha 🙂

  3. ACW says:

    For those of you who are curious what I ended up getting – I decided not to buy anything. Instead, I will make something for her. I think I’ll bake a cake shaped as something that she likes, maybe her star sign or something to give her luck. Actually, Pete – your lucky charm suggestion gave me this idea. Good one and thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

