God has many faces

Today, I learnt that God has many faces. He is in the whispers of the wind.  He is in the earthquakes. He is in the roaring fires. He is in the silence. He is in the darkness and the light. He is everywhere.

Even when we have sinned and we cannot look at ourselves the same way again – when we cannot let go of the hurt or the disappointment in ourselves – God is always there for us. He does not abandon us because we lose faith.

In last Sunday’s gospel reading at Church, we read about Jesus walking on water and Peter called out to Jesus, “If it is really you, let me come to you” and Jesus said “Come”. So Peter did walk on water but when he noticed the wind pick up speed and the waves knock him about, he lost faith and sank. But Jesus did not abandon Peter, he reached out to grab Peter’s hand to lift him out of the water.

I feel like Peter in many ways. I have the courage to take the first step….and then somewhere along the way, I lose faith and start sinking. It isn’t until I start sinking that I remember God again and seek for help. Jesus is always there to lift me out of the water.  He has performed so many miracles in my life and I love him so much. We all lose faith sometimes, but the important thing is that we turn to Christ.

This entry was posted in Personal, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

